Follow us on

Discover Veneto

Reading time:

  • Share on:
 - Immagine relativa a "Discover Veneto"

Space data for cultural heritage and UNESCO sites

Italy has 59 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Nine of these are in the region of Veneto and need to be preserved for all mankind.

Discover the Veneto Region UNESCO Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) aims to contribute to peace and safety of people and promotes cooperation among the countries around the world through the channels of education, science and culture.

One task of UNESCO is to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage. It represents the history and identity of each people and the legacy of the past is to be transmitted to future generations.

The World Heritage List currently includes more than one thousand sites, and only Italy contains 59 UNESCO sites (December 2023).

Nine of these sites are allocated in the region of Veneto.



The site of the Dolomites comprises a mountain range in the northern Italian Alps, numbering 18 peaks which rise to above 3,000 metres and cover 141,903 ha.

It features some of the most beautiful mountain landscapes anywhere, with vertical walls, sheer cliffs and a high density of narrow, deep and long valleys.

A serial property of nine areas that present a diversity of spectacular landscapes of international significance for geomorphology marked by steeples, pinnacles and rock walls, the site also contains glacial landforms and karst systems.

Dolomites require protection from tourism pressures and related infrastructure. Each of the component parts requires its own individual management plan, providing protection and management of land use, regulation and management of human activities to maintain its values, and in particular to preserve the qualities of its natural landscapes.



The botanical garden of Padua it’s the world’s first botanical garden, which was created in 1545.

Currently it still preserves its original layout – circular central plot, symbolizing the world, surrounded by a ring of water.

The Botanical Garden of Padua is the original of botanical gardens in Europe, and represents the birth of botanical science, of scientific exchanges, and understanding of the relationship between nature and culture.

The safeguarding and protection of the Botanical Garden of Padua is the shared responsibility of numerous institutional stakeholders, operating at communal, provincial, regional and national levels.

The Botanical Garden is the property of the Italian State, but is on permanent loan to the University of Padua. To avoid the continuation of the partial destruction of the surrounding areas and urban expansion, the University of Padua bought a large part of the nearby area to build a modern ‘satellite’ botanical garden.



The UNESCO World Heritage property comprehend the city of Venice and its lagoon situated in the Veneto Region of Northeast Italy. Founded in the 5th century and spread over 118 small islands, Venice became a major maritime power in the 10th century.

Venice and its lagoon landscape are the result of a dynamic process which illustrates the interaction between people and the ecosystem of their natural environment over time. Human interventions show high technical and creative skills in the realization of the hydraulic and architectural works in the lagoon area.

In order to preserve the lagoon and protect its historic settlements a sustainable tourism strategy is one of the Management Plan priorities.

The Management Plan contains many projects for communication and participation in decision-making and for the implementation of the objectives of protection and enhancement of the property. A specific Action Plan focuses on awareness building, communication, promotion, education and training.



Two thousand years of history and an immense artistic and architectural heritage.

Verona was inscribed in the World Heritage list in 2000. The city has preserved a remarkable number of monuments from antiquity, the medieval and Renaissance periods, and represents an outstanding example of a military stronghold. It is a city of culture and art.

Listed buildings and monuments in the historic centre are protected under the Cultural Heritage and Landscape Code, the national law for the safeguard of cultural heritage. In compliance with national laws, all physical interventions concerning the cultural heritage are subject to the control of the competent Superintendence.

The municipal administration of Verona includes a UNESCO office that provides coordination and a technical secretariat.



The city of Vicenza was inscribed a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1994. The unique appearance of the city is the work of only one man: Andrea Palladio.

The site initially comprised only the city of Vicenza with its 23 buildings and 3 suburban villas attributed to Palladio; 21 villas located in several Veneto provinces were later included in the 1996 site extension.

The protection of the site is guaranteed by several legal measures of protection.

Special protection plans applied to all the buildings ensure careful preservation, according to the theoretical principles of restoration works.

The principal aims of the Management Plan are to recover and revitalize the urban image, characterized by a strong Palladian mark, through the definition of intervention priorities inside the historical centre and the buffer zone, to restore and preserve the villas and the surrounding open spaces.



By June 2012 a new pearl was added to the precious collection of gems protected by UNESCO in Veneto.

Pile dwellings were houses built by lakes or rivers, and were set on piles to protect against flooding. There are four such structures in Veneto. Two are close to Peschiera del Garda (at Belvedere and on Lake Frassino), one is at Tombola (40 km southeast of Verona) and one is at Arquà Petrarca (35 km southwest of Padua).



Viticulture landscape resulting from the interaction of nature and people over several centuries.

This area is characterised by distinctive hogback morphological system which provides a distinctive mountain character with scenic vistas, vineyards, forests, small villages and agriculture.

The protection of the rural landscape is primarily guaranteed by the rules of the Conegliano Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore DOCG that favour the maintenance of the vineyards.

Construction of new production areas and buildings in the agricultural zone that are not strictly necessary for the working of agricultural land is not permitted. The Management Plan requires further development, adoption and implementation.



The Venetian defences cross several countries between Italy, Croatia and Montenegro, and, in the Veneto region, they included the town of Peschiera del Garda, which acted as a pentagon-shaped fortress.

In 2017, UNESCO officially gave this set of assets World Heritage status.

UNESCO’s recognition confirms the exceptional value of the modern military culture that was developed by the Republic of Venice between the 16th and 17th centuries.



Some important religious and secular building are allocated in the city of Padua.

In fact, the city houses a selection of fresco cycles painted between 1302 and 1397 by different artists such as Giotto (Giotto’s Scrovegni Chapel), Guariento di Arpo, Giusto de’ Menabuoi, Altichiero da Zevio, Jacopo Avanzi and Jacopo da Verona.

The Padua fresco cycles illustrate the important interchange of ideas which existed between leading figures in the worlds of science, literature and the visual arts in the pre-humanist climate of Padua in the early 14th century.

In order to protect fresco cycles an overall management system has been introduced, establishing close coordination between the different bodies that own the complexes of buildings which house the fresco cycles. Currently the management plan is under elaboration.